clearcase import does not use svn copy for branches

mikebull
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 1:00 am

clearcase import does not use svn copy for branches

Postby mikebull » Sat Jul 26, 2008 5:01 am

The release notes for 1.1-M8 indicate that file copy is implemented for both tags and branches:

"SVN copy used for Tags/Branches support for MKS, ClearCase, CVS, StarTeam"

But I'm finding that file copy is not working for clearcase branches. File copy seems to be implemented for tags only.

Has anyone gotten this feature to work?

lbaja
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:20 pm

Re: clearcase import does not use svn copy for branches

Postby lbaja » Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:46 pm

I have the same problem.

goofwithz3
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:57 pm

Re: clearcase import does not use svn copy for branches

Postby goofwithz3 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:22 am

me too. I just posted a detailed log up above.

d4rkwolf
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:05 am

Re: clearcase import does not use svn copy for branches

Postby d4rkwolf » Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:11 am

Yeah...
Thats why u need to manually re-structure it again...
and also u need to do some checking..
jz to make sure that all of the data migrated is complete.
cz sometimes, it has several data that cant be migrated.
Reason: unknown

Jacqueline
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 9:54 am

Re: clearcase import does not use svn copy for branches

Postby Jacqueline » Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:00 am

I have also had this exact issue, importing from StarTeam 2005 to SVN. I believe it to be caused by either: duplicate file entries (same name, same folder, etc) in StarTeam (whatever developer decided that was a wanted feature...), two files from seperate derived views being "copied" to the same place ( a real pain, can be fixed by turning off derived views in the import), or two commits REALLY close together, and get pulled into a single "commit", this is far less likely. To get around this, I have taken to manually modifying the dump files in VIM and removing the duplicate entries, and manually using svnadmin to load them. It is a bit of work. I have pulled down the source for SVNImporter, and I have considered adding functionality to check for duplicates due to the many cases it can happen due to StarTeam silliness


Return to “Polarion SVN Importer (Repository Converter)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests